Patterson, Shilling named Athletes of the Year

Patterson, Shilling named Athletes of the Year


The Wilmington College Student-Athlete Advisory Committee honored its own Sunday during the Third Annual WESPY’s Award at the Boyd Theatre.

For the second consecutive season, Christian Patterson (Cincinnati, OH/Norwood) was joined by a softball player in being named SAAC Athletes of the Year. This year, however, it was senior Catlin Shilling (Waverly, OH/Waverly), who earned the honor thanks to a Twitter vote. Both honorees advanced to the social media voting by earning Spring Student-Athlete of the Year.

Patterson, who was named Indoor All-American in the high jump, is currently third nationally in the outdoor high jump event. A two-time Outdoor Track & Field All-American, Patterson – barring some unforeseen circumstances – will be competing in the NCAA Division III Championships from May 22-24.

Shilling had a phenomenal season on the softball field. She hit a school record .482 this season, including an OAC-leading .577 in conference play. Shilling was top five in the OAC in runs, doubles, homeruns, RBI, average, on-base percentage and slugging. She holds WC career records in doubles (37), homeruns (24) and RBI (86).

The Twitterverse was given the opportunity to choose the Athletes of the Year after the fall, winter and spring student-athletes were honored.

Sophomore football player Jeremy Duncan (Cincinnati, OH/Archbishop Moeller) and junior runner Tricia Steffen (Baltimore, OH/Liberty Union) were awarded the Fall Student Athletes of the Year, while senior basketball player Malcolm Heard II (Wilmington, OH/Wilmington) and senior swimmer Victoria Burcham (Urbana, OH/Urbana) earned the Winter Student-Athletes of the Year.

For the first time, the Judy Doyle Quaker Award and the Jenna Parlette Spirit Award were awarded. Both plaques will be hung in Hermann Court. The Judy Doyle Quaker Award will be given out annually to the senior who had the best four-year career at Wilmington, and the 2014 winner was Patterson.

The Jenna Parlette Spirit Award honors the WC Student-Athlete that epitomizes what a student-athlete is, and the 2014 winner was Steffen.


Other Awards

Male Newcomer – Tarrell Starckey (Football)

Female Newcomer – Brittaney Jefferson (Basketball)

Male Senior – Brandon Arehart (Football, Baseball)

Female Senior – Danielle Monnier (Softball)

Fans of the Year – Men’s Lacrosse

Faculty/Staff – President Jim Reynolds

Performance of the Year – Jeremy Duncan, 379 yards rec. vs Muskingum

Game of the Year – WBB vs Marietta

Upset of the Year – MBB beats Division I Miami

Lifetime Achievement Award – Bud Lewis