Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wilmington Quakers
Give a gift

Glish Wins 50, Three Women’s Swimming Records Fall

Glish Wins 50, Three Women’s Swimming Records Fall

Story by Samantha Williams

AKRON, Ohio - The Wilmington College (WC) women's swimming team competed in day one of the Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Championship Swim Meet hosted by Ohio Northern University at the Ocasek Natatorium at the University of Akron on Thursday.

The Fightin' Quakers collected one event win during the evening session and finished the night with 88 points, settling into fifth-place with two more days of competition remaining.

The Quakers' lone win of the evening came from Samantha Glish in the 50-yard freestyle. She went into tonight's session seeded second with a time of 24.36 - a new team record she had set during the prelims session. 23.99 seconds after the horn sounded in finals, Glish touched the wall; breaking the 24.0 barrier, setting a new WC team record, and becoming the new OAC Champion in the 50-yard freestyle.

Glish was not the only team member to set a new team record; two other team records were broken throughout the course of the evening's session.

Macki Leon not only finished tenth in the 200-yard individual medley but also blew away the team's previous record with her time of 2:16.99.

Both Glish and Leon were members of a record-setting 400-yard medley relay along with teammates Alyssa Rogers and Hannah Davis. The quartet finished fifth in the field with a time of 4:09.00.

The same group formed the team's 200-yard freestyle relay, where they once again came in fifth with a time of 1:42.18.

The Quakers took fourteenth- and fifteenth-place in the 500-yard freestyle. Margaret Hover earned fourteenth with a personal best time of 5:38.15 and Rachel O'Donnell took fifteenth with a time of 5:38.61, also a personal best.

WC is back in action at 10 a.m. tomorrow for Day Two prelims where the 200-yard medley relay, 400-yard individual medley, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke, and 100-yard backstroke will be contested.